List Of NITs in India With City/Town and State/UT

List Of NITs in India With CityTown and StateUT

List Of NITs India

NITs and locations, sorted by date of establishment
Serial No Name Abbreviation Founded Established City/Town State/UT
1 NIT Allahabad MNNIT 1961 2001 Prayagraj Uttar Pradesh
2 NIT Bhopal MANIT 1960 2002 Bhopal Madhya Pradesh
3 NIT Nagpur VNIT 1960 2002 Nagpur Maharashtra
4 NIT Durgapur NITDGP 1960 2002 Durgapur West Bengal
5 NIT Hamirpur NITH 1986 2002 Hamirpur Himachal Pradesh
6 NIT Jaipur MNIT 1963 2002 Jaipur Rajasthan
7 NIT Jalandhar NITJ 1987 2002 Jalandhar Punjab
8 NIT Jamshedpur NITJSR 1960 2002 Jamshedpur Jharkhand
9 NIT Kurukshetra NITKKR 1963 2002 Kurukshetra Haryana
10 NIT Calicut NITC 1961 2002 Kozhikode Kerala
11 NIT Rourkela NITR 1961 2002 Rourkela Odisha
12 NIT Silchar NITS 1967 2002 Silchar Assam
13 NIT Karnataka NITK 1960 2002 Suratkhal Karnataka
14 NIT Warangal NITW 1959 2002 Warangal Telangana
15 NIT Srinagar NITSRI 1960 2003 Srinagar Jammu and Kashmir
16 NIT Surat SVNIT 1961 2003 Surat Gujarat
17 NIT Tiruchirappalli NITT 1964 2003 Trichy Tamil Nadu
18 NIT Patna NITP 1886 2004 Patna Bihar
19 NIT Raipur NITRR 1956 2005 Raipur Chhattisgarh
20 NIT Agartala NITA 1965 2006 Agartala Tripura
21 NIT Arunachal Pradesh NITAP 2010 2010 Yupia Arunachal Pradesh
22 NIT Delhi NITD 2010 2010 New Delhi Delhi
23 NIT Goa NITG 2010 2010 Farmagudi Goa
24 NIT Manipur NITMN 2010 2010 Imphal Manipur
25 NIT Meghalaya NITM 2010 2010 Shillong Meghalaya
26 NIT Mizoram NITMZ 2010 2010 Aizawl Mizoram
27 NIT Nagaland NITN 2010 2010 Dimapur Nagaland
28 NIT Puducherry NITPY 2010 2010 Karaikal Puducherry
29 NIT Sikkim NITSKM 2010 2010 Ravangla Sikkim
30 NIT Uttarakhand NITUK 2010 2010 Srinagar, Uttarakhand Uttarakhand
31 NIT Andhra Pradesh NITANP 2015 2015 Tadepalligudem Andhra Pradesh

The National Institutes of Technology (NITs) are autonomous public technical and research universities located in India. They are governed by the National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007, which declared them as institutions of national importance and lays down their powers, duties, and framework for governance. The National Institutes of Technology Act, 2007 lists thirty-one institutes. Each NIT is autonomous, linked to the others through a common council (NIT Council), which oversees their administration and all NITs are funded by the Government of India. The Minister of Human Resource Development is the ex officio Chairperson of the NIT Council. These institutes are among the top-ranked engineering colleges in India and have one of the lowest acceptance rates for engineering institutes, of around 1 to 2 percent. The language of instruction is English at all these institutes. As of 2019, the total number of seats for undergraduate programs was 21,133 and for postgraduate programs 10,550 in all the 31 NITs put together.

Organisational structure

Organisational structure of the NITs

The President of India is the ex officio visitor of all the NITs. The NIT Council works directly under him and it includes the minister-in-charge of technical education in Central Government, the Chairmen and the Directors of all the NITs, the Chairman of University Grants Commission (UGC), the Director-General of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), the Directors of other selected central institutions of repute, members of Parliament, Joint Council Secretary of Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD), nominees of the Central Government, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), and the Visitor.

Below the NIT Council is each NIT’s Board of Governors. The Board of Governors of each NIT consists of the following members:

  • Chairman – an eminent technologist / engineer / educationist to be nominated by the Government of India.
  • Member Secretary – Director of the NIT.
  • Nominee of the MHRD, Government of India.
  • Nominee of the Department of the Higher / Technical Education of the respective state government.
  • Head of another technical institution in the region or an eminent technologist to be nominated by Central Govt.
  • Director, IIT (in the region) or his nominee.
  • Nominee of the UGC not below the rank of a Deputy Secretary.
  • Nominee of the AICTE not below the rank of an Advisor.
  • An alumnus of the institute from amongst alumni in education/industry to be nominated by Board of Governors.
  • Two representatives representing large, medium and small scale industries to be nominated by Central Government.
  • One Professor and one Assistant Professor of the institute by rotation.

The Director serves under the Board of Governors and is the school’s chief academic and executive officer. Academic policies are decided by its Senate, which is composed of some professors and other representatives. The Senate controls and approves the curriculum, courses, examinations, and results. Senate committees examine specific academic matters. The teaching, training, and research activities of various departments of the institute are periodically reviewed to maintain educational standards. The Director is the ex official Chairman of the Senate. The Deputy Director is subordinate to the Director. Together they manage the Deans, Heads of Departments, Registrar, President of the Students’ Council, and Chairman of the Hall Management Committee. Deans and Heads of Departments in NITs are administrative postings rather than career paths. Faculty members serve as Deans and Heads of Departments for limited periods, typically 2 to 3 years, then returning to regular faculty duties. The Registrar is the chief administrative officer and overviews day-to-day operations. Below the Head of Department (HOD), are the various faculty members (professors, assistant professors, and lecturers). The Warden serves under the Chairman of the Hall Management Committee.

List Of NITs in India With City/Town and State/UT

Bihar Engineering College, Patna (estd. 1886), third oldest engineering college in India, was converted to NIT Patna in 2007.